kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend Warrior

Ahhhh relief! Today was the first day that I was able to go running outside without risking certain heat stroke and it was lovely. While it is hard to believe that summer is nearing its end, I am kind of glad to see it go. Today my mailbox was stuffed full of yummy encyclopedia sized September issues of the fashion magazines, the kind where the spine cracks when you open them from the sheer weight of fall fashion advertisements. In fact, as I write this I am distracted and think I can hear them calling me to the couch�

Last weekend C. was in the Hamptons with hi college buddies and I stayed behind in the steamy city trying to keep busy and keep cool and to not obsess. I know it�s pathetic but I have the hardest time letting go�of course once I do I�m fine but it�s the days leading up to the event that I�m a mess. So I think I gave C. a hard time last week from Wednesday night on. It�s not as if I didn�t know this whole reunion thing was coming. C. warned me around three months in advance (see how well trained he is?, but my mind still conjures up all sorts of horrible situations. C. and his pals frolicking with super models at Rocco�s�that sort of thing. Of course the reality is, the more I let go the more eager C. is to come running back to me. But it�s not always easy�I�m learning. I�m learning. Best friend and long term relationship veteran commended me on my progress and told me to wait for the three year mark, �By then you�ll be begging him to go away� she promises me.

Anyway Ms. Independent had the best Friday night. I went to yoga and pretzeled in all sorts of fun positions. Then, while channel surfing, the stars and moon aligned and I happened upon possibly the only two episodes of Sex and the City I�ve ever missed playing back to back. Joy! Then I watched �I Am Sam� on pay per view while drinking a light beer and cried my little PMSing heart out. It was pure bliss.

On Saturday I went to the beach with some friends. The kind of friends that are your �almost, not quite� friends. The ones that you always mean to do something with but you haven�t really made that step into really having any sort of real conversation with aside from �I love your shirt!� or other such surface blather. Beach was good. Conversation was good. I now have a really close but not quite friend. Saturday night was a marathon where I decided to kill myself in order to have as much fun as I imagined C. was having. Met girlfriends at Tortilla Flats for tequila shots and margaritas (had wine before I left house of course), then went to Sushi Samba and had some syrupy excuse for a martini (mango I believe�the fruit smoothie of cocktails) also had some sort of lemonade-y shot from cute (and I�m almost positive underage) bartender. Then (yes folks there�s more) went to 203 and had a vodka soda (ugh). Then, just as I was ready to toss my sorry self into a cab and go home my energizer bunny of a girlfriend showed up and twisted my arm into attending two (or was it three?) more venues before I crawled home and into bed. I�m not sure I had as much fun as C., but I guarantee you I felt a hell of a lot worse than he did on Sunday morning. Sooo�needless to say shopping for dress to wear to wedding the weekend after next in 90 degree weather while bloated, premenstrual and hung-over was loads of fun. I highly recommend it. My boobs will surely sink down to normal size by time of wedding and dress will flop about hideously where it once fit quite nicely thank you very much.

What else? What else? Oh yes, we�re preparing for the move. Cable, phone and electric will all be switched by the beginning of next week. The movers are showing up on Sunday to haul our crap across town. We went to see our new apartment last night. The super was supposed to re-do the floors and paint but we walked in to a pile of rubble. He has assured us that it will all be under control by Saturday. While I have my doubts, C. has taken a liking to this man after spending almost an hour with him this morning and hearing his life story. We�ll see. But either way Sunday is move out day and of course, we haven�t packed a thing.

Okay, must go�the fashion bibles are calling me and I won�t have any time to read them at work tomorrow.

La di da. La di da.

5:06 p.m. - 2002-08-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188