kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saving Karyn, Label Lust and Delusional Thoughts

Day six of being back to work�

Ugh. Shit. This isn�t very much fun is it? The thing about PR is when �they�re� biting you can be incredibly busy and feel kind of important and cool (well, if that�s the type of person you are�which I unfortunately am). But when �they� aren�t biting you feel like a leper falling at the feet of fashion and features editors (that�s who �they� are) who�d just assume lick the floor of a subway car clean rather than talk to you.

Guess how I feel right now?

Bingo!

I promise I�ll never again be mean to the telemarketers that call our house.

Okay�maybe not. That�s just too much to ask. I guess it�s bad karma. After those few months of being home I was so rude to the poor souls that phoned our house to hawk long distance carriers, credit cards and the New York Times subscription service that this is surely payback.

In other news�during recent downtime at the office I checked out www.savekaryn.com and was duly impressed. First, it�s a very smart idea that a) will probably get her out of debt b)will get her lots of press �New York� mag this week! C) will probably get her a book deal or a movie deal or at least an invite to the kind of party that gets covered in PageSix and gives her access to free booze and a goodie bag (which since she�s budgeting is a very good thing). Now, anyone who knows me well can attest to the fact that I too am a shameless label whore when it comes to such treats as designer bags and shoes and pretty much anything else they sell at Scoop, Intermix, Barneys or (the most blessed of all places) Bergdorf�s. And since I do not have a high-paying job or a trust fund or a sugar daddy I too am no stranger to credit card debt and forced starvation diets in order to pay for such �necessities� as getting my hair highlighted and my piggies polished. I applaud Karyn for her ingenuity and also for her clever writing, which is well worth a look-see. If I were one of �them� I�d rush an email to Karyn ASAP and give her a job with an expense account and other such Conde Nasty perks. But that�s just my humble opinion�I�d also rush out and offer myself such a job and then Karyn and I could go for two hour long lunches on the company and be sent lots of free samples and such.

So, here it is Tuesday (only Tuesday?! Eegads!) and I am contemplating either a) going to yoga and becoming a more centered, grounded and overall decent human being or b) going the salon and getting a pedicure. Given the fact that I�m starving and that yogic breathing is really no fun when one has smoked far too many cigarettes during the day I am afraid the salon may win out. You see I can�t go home because the realtor is holding an open house at our apartment to show it to perspective buyers whom I envision traipsing through my home pawing through my underwear drawer, peering at the contents of my fridge and �Tsk. Tsk-ing� the hairs that gather in the corners of my bathroom floor. Very creepy. Maybe I should go to yoga in order to abate some of this obviously delusional behavior. As if anyone cares about my panties, the moldy mango in my fridge or the pubes on my bathroom floor.

La di da. La di da.

5:26 p.m. - 2002-07-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188