kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Americana

Now I will attempt to get more in depth ... of course, considering my actions today. Unable to send emails, shaking while lighting cigarettes (yeah, those things I was gonna quit), tripping over my own feet - it may be nearly impossible.

So, back to Thursday night. Big "celebrity" shin-dig. You know, the kind where NO celebrities show up at all. No biggie. Free Bacardi Limon drinks (mistake number one). Wore cute little suede pink number (little being the key word) - mistake number two. The Leather Lounge. Ugh. Should have known better. Well - did know better and that didn't stop me. Went with the girls. Much fun had by all. Had the displeasure of watching a fashion show (thus the name Leather Lounge). Never seen it from the other end of the runway (except on TV). Felt extremley sorry and uncomfortable for the models. Live meat parading in front of a bunch of people who had been imbibing rum punch for two hours (imagine if you will the results of this). Felt especially sorry for said co-worker because he is also a model (with my old agency - the wonders never cease). After the show I zoomed in, determined (well okay, drunk). Asked if he was going to after party at Joy. He was. So therefore I was. Spent the evening chatting with him and then decided to share a cab home (well, to Deanna's where I was staying for the night). Never took the cab - walked 20-something blocks in high heels (took us two hours). Stopped on every street corner to make-out like some bad movie. Spent all of last weekend in CT telling Chree and Hetty how in trouble I was because this guy is amazing. Fully prepared for him to blow me off. The typical problem - someone this perfect would never want ME. But even if this is the case, I will never be sorry for the night. Work has been odd, weird glances and an illicit email. Not being able to tell anyone but my very closest confidants. Part of me thinks it is never a good idea to get involved with someone that makes you so crazy (just by looking at him). But for the longest time I thought I could never like someone so much ever again (after the Jason fiasco), now I know I was wrong.

Going to the Mets tonight. Mom sent me a funny email responding to the bowling photo I sent her:

"Jesus H. Christ, girl! You coulda stayed here and gone bowling! I don't get it....maybe they'll decide that ice fishing is cool (oops, wrong season), or miniature golf (probably), or even pigs in a blanket and Jell-O salad!!! Whatever became of the City, eh?"

... which reminds me of the smores at the fancy schmantz restaurant a few weeks back. Yes, we NYers love a good dose of Americana trash now and then. As for staying home - well yeah, I suppose but somehow I don't think it's quite the same deal.

16:27:45 - 2000-06-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188