kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There's No Place Like Home...

Friday night. I�m sitting at my computer looking out the window onto the street where sheets of rain are coming down along with thunder and lightening. I may be struck dead at any moment.

Another week of un-enjoyment has gone by. I honestly can�t remember what it was like to have to get up in the morning and have to go to the office. No more press releases on vinyl alternative wallcovering. There is a god.

Meanwhile, I have churned out a few literary masterpieces as a freelancer�trend reports and shopping guides. Of course, who am I to preach such fashionista blather considering my wardrobe now consists of my pajamas (C�s underwear and t-shirt), workout gear, or jeans, a tank top and flip-flops.

Last weekend we kicked off summer with a trip back to Shelter Island. It was strange d�j� vu. The same house, the same people, the same bars, the same loooong nights and late mornings�it was fun to be back and to know it was only for three days, not for the entire summer. I think I�m getting old�by Sunday night going out seemed more like a job than like fun. I kept on saying to myself, �Only one more night and then I can go home and sleep�. While Sunset Beach and Rocco�s are fun, I just can�t do it every weekend anymore. These days I get a strange satisfaction out of chopping veggies for salads, brewing ice coffee and scrubbing the bathroom walls with Fantastik! with bleach. Very scary.

Tomorrow morning C. and I are heading to the Northeast Kingdom. Yes. It�s true. The Italian is finally going to see my roots (and I�m not talking hair color here folks). I guess it�s about time, after a year and a half C. is coming home with me to Vermont. The occasion�my brother�s graduation and an opportunity to squeeze my new nephew. While C. has met both my parents on our own turf, this is the first time I�m really subjecting him to the real deal. I may be single by Monday afternoon.

Kidding. Kidding. I think�

Wish me luck folks. I�m going back to the belly of the beast and this time with no back up. My best friend had the convenient excuse of having a huge case to argue on Monday and she won�t be making the homeward journey with me. How can she subject me to Northern Vermont alone? I feel like skinned animal, a peeled banana�whatever will I do?!

La di da. La di da.

9:08 p.m. - 2002-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188