kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back to the salt mines ...

You know what I find really fucking hilarious? The fact that in the morning when I stumble to the gym wearing baggy sweat pants the color of poo and a grungy tank top with my hair in a knot on top of my head I am practically ran over by a group of business men rushing to work because they�re too busy discussing their frat boy antics and who they did (or more likely didn�t) have sex with the night before. Then, later in the day when I�m headed out to meet girlfriends for lunch I see a similar pack of suits (still discussing their amazing sex lives and ability to down $15 martinis at an alarming rate) and these suits stop and gawk and make generally offensive and puerile comments that they think I can�t hear (because you know, good looking women don�t really have that ability � to hear didn�t cha know)? It�s amazing what a shower and a change of clothes will do - really. I am tempted to pick my nose in front of them or do some other disgusting maneuver. But is it really worth it? Nah. Let them have their little fantasy world where there is such a thing as �hot� women and such a thing as �ugly� women and leave it at that. I got my friend T. and his pal in to see the taping of the supermodel episode of �Who Wants To Be A Millionaire� and he called me to say that some of these super vixens weren�t really that hot in �real life�. Really? Go figure.

Sooooo, I got a job today! Yes, my life as lady of leisure or �housebitch� is coming to an end.

Praise the lord!

Couldn�t take it for much longer. Was ready to start cleaning the sinks with a little scrub brush and a bucket of bleach. Was on a first name basis with the people at the Laundromat. Was tearing half finished mugs out of C.�s hand to put in the dishwasher so as to avoid water rings on the coffee table. Scary stuff.

I am now a �staff writer/Sr. Marketing Associate� for a textiles/design firm. Figure I will soon know more than I ever cared to about things like �texture� and �weave�. This kind of technical writing isn�t really my cup o� tea, my bag o� tricks (considering my affection for ���, and parenthesis, and run on sentences, and just an overall disregard for all proper grammar usage), but I figure it will be a good �challenge for me as a writer� � i.e. it pays well, so I�m doing it. Besides the offices are really nice. So, a week from Monday it�s back to the salt mines (i.e. Midtown). Can�t wait to eat eight-dollar sandwiches and commute to the office again. Hey Nicks and Birdie � the office is in our old DK hood so I know all the ins n� outs already � where to find good pizza, which diner lets you always have the booth even though your group is too rowdy and loud, which nail salons give the best manicures, and so on � Easy peasy. Puddin� n� pie.

Okay, C. just got home from work and molested me. Now I�ve got to go pick up the dry cleaning (still the housebitch for another week) and get ready to go out to celebrate the fact that I�m gainfully employed once again.

La di da. La di da.

7:01 p.m. - 2001-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188