kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kiwi in hot water ...

Ouch. My fingers are scalded from the shower this morning. Long story but here goes ... I have yet to master the eccentricities of Patrick's shower. First, it is in the kitchen, which is also the bathroom ... and though this may sound too gross for words it is just a fact of life in NY. I do sometimes pause to think as I am brushing my teeth, leaning over the kitchen/bathroom sink mouth full of toothpaste about to spit ... But I digress. The bathroom/kitchen does have the luxury of a little enclosed toilet so Patrick doesn't have to watch me pee as he is making our morning coffee. Unfortunatley I can never fully shut the door since the toilet room is roughly the size of a cat's litter box. Again I digress ... so this morning I step up in to the shower (a good two feet above floor level). I turn the knobs a few times, get all cozy ... suddenly the water is cold (eeewww, most unpleasant - I adjust). Then the water is just right but shooting out in bursts of high, then low pressure (I adjust). Just right. Hmmm.... a little warm (I adjust). By now I have adjusted so much I don't know what is what or which way is which way. Water getting v. hot. I start turning the knobs desperatley until I am worried they will fall off in my hands. My skin is now most uncomfortable. Decide to turn shower off alltogether. Turn what I am thinking is hot water all the way off. Nope. Cold water. My skin becomes seared flesh as I dance around in this tiny box trying not to tumble out on to the kitchen/bathroom floor where Patrick is peacefully preparing breakfast. Whew. Water finally off, but I haven't bothered to wash my hair or even soap my armpits. At this point I am terrified to ever step in to the shower again ... I accept my defeat and skulk off to the bedroom/closet/office to get dressed. I feel most violated by my adventures in New York living.

In other news ... I am most happy and in love (though still feeling a little bloated).

19:04:26 - 2000-09-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188