kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, but I'm just having ONE Cosmopolitan

Okay, as promised I am going to try and vomit up some wit and entertainment on to these pages. Please understand that I am not feeling in top form. I am suffering from lack of sleep, a mild hangover, and a food coma (Thai food, chocolate chip cookies, late night pizza, and a lunch with co-workers today - ugh). Please God, let me be PMSing or some such horrendous thing. After all, the Doctor told me this week that (defying all logic) I am as healthy as a horse. Who knew?

Last night we went out to bid adieu to the final round of interns. This marks summer coming to a close ... where did it go? I think I went to the beach once this summer. Which is a blessing in that I only had to wear a bikini once (basically traipsing around in public in one's underwear). Still ... I wish I had enjoyed a bit of sun (although there hasn't been much sun to be had this summer). It is infinitely better than last summer where NYC resembled Hell here on earth it was so hot. Usually by this time I am a nice nutmeg brown, I now resemble a poached egg white omelet I am so pale. Thank God for self-tanner. I have given up on the idea of going to Vermont for a week of picnic table basking (at home I position myself flat on my back on the picnic table in the back yard with a pile of magazines and some good music - there I resemble some strange cannibal entree). I am trying to orchestrate a visit home during foliage (how terribly touristy of me). So back to the interns good-bye gala ... very sad to see two of my favorites go. D, Rach, and I went to get our nails done and then met up with everyone at Sin-Sin. This place has become "our" bar. I half expect to walk in and have everyone greet me at the bar by name while the bartender slides a raspberry cosmopolitan down my way before I even ask ... What started out as a promise to have one drink and head home turned in to some kind of drunken dance party. Adam was there following me around like a lost dog. He looked great, but isn't that always the story? The minute you break up with someone they do some major soul searching, start working out, buy new clothes, get a haircut and end up looking ten times better than they did before. I have seen this phenomenon time and again. But, all this considered, he is still Adam so I wouldn't let him buy me a drink but I was very civil and friendly. I am unsure if they will ever let us set foot in Sin-Sin again without signing some kind of disclaimer. I got to flirt my heart out which always makes ol' Kiwi happy. Please ... our agency is nothing but a petri dish of raging hormones. Throw some booze in the mix and we are all over each other. There was much dancing, flirting, confessions of hidden (or not) lust, I believe I even suckled on a few ears (used my teeth on A's gold earring) ... no comment. I do have a new lust object. But I can't throw another name in the mix and confuse everyone. Besides, he is too decent of a guy for me to be involved with. He is amazing. I could fall in love with this guy if he wasn't so smart he would never get involved with the likes of me. I have been listening to the CD of his band all day and getting all blushed and walking around with a goofy smile. Sigh.

I was supposed to have dinner with Michael tonight but I am too tired (and over-stuffed). Needless to say he isn't thrilled with this decision. I don't know how we got to the point where it is a given that we will spend the entire weekend together, but here we are ... and now he is all pissy. I feel bad, but what can I do? I have tried, tried, tried to convince myself that he is perfect for me (to no avail). I mean come on, obviously if I am running all over the place doing unmentionable things with other men and feeling all moony and heartsick (again over other men), then I am not whole-heartedly in to this relationship and it's not fair to either of us.

Christ ... more to tell but I have to run, D is standing over me saying it's 6pm. It's FRIDAY. Let's get the hell out of here. I am coming in to the office on Sunday. I will write more then.

La di da, la di da ...

19:04:03 - 2000-08-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188