kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The weekend looms

Friday! Friday! The first weekend in THREE weeks that I don't have to work. I am thrilled, in shock, awed by the possibilities of what to do over this large span of free time. Of course now I am just forced to face my glaring inadequacies as a normal human being. Laundry, dry cleaning, house cleaning, bill paying ... eegads. What fun. Not to mention the fact that I haven't been to the gym for two weeks (although I have managed to half-heartedly slog around Prospect Park a few mornings). Yeeech.

I am actually cat sitting for a friend this weekend so I won't be home much at all. Sam will be gone this weekend as well, she is off to Fire Island for some meaningless affair with a boy who isn't worthy of the lint in her belly button (so what else is new?). We always want what we can't have (aint it the truth?). My personal experience with this phenomenon is as frustrating as ever. I want all men out of my life. I want to be stranded on a desert Island with every back issue of Vogue since 1970 and a great music collection ... oh, and a masseuse (right, he'd probably be male and I'd be in trouble again). Sigh. Anyway, it is a good thing we will both be gone on the same weekend. Neither of us deals with being alone very well. We are the perfect roommates. When I get home and the house is empty I fall in to a deep seated panic. Usually I end up in front of the TV maniacally doing push ups and sit ups. Sometimes I do the New York magazine crossword which I pilfer weekly from work. I man the phones and pour over the caller ID, I obsess about my lack of closet space ... sometimes I even consider doing something productive, but inevitably I wind up staring in to the magnifying mirror with tweezers in hand or picking at my clogged pores.

Last night D and I went to Black Star with Brooke, etc. We had many yummy Cosmopolitans and bitched ... only it's no fun when Brooke is there cuz I can't REALLY bitch about Industrial boy since she is not in the know and works with us. Went to Michael's later, nothing new.

Tonight is Nick's Birthday dinner and I am bringing Michael. Really it is sad, every time we go to this restaurant (delicious Northern Italian in Carroll Gardens), it is Nick, Candi and Sean, and me and some different guy. Really I just do it to mix things up a bit, you know, give us something to laugh about at a later date. Looking forward to the Caprice salad and the company and some good wine. Then back to the city to cat sit or go out or whatever. D's mom and sisters are in town this weekend so I will miss her terribly, my partner in crime. I am ready for a maternal visit very soon. So many movies to see, so much food to eat, and she hasn't seen my new place. Plus, I haven't seen her since she lost weight and started doing yoga again and I know I will be very proud. Glad one of us is on a health kick. I feel like the poster child for urban unhealthiness.

Back to work - who knows what this weekend will hold. Inevitably Industrial will NOT call, Michael and I will spend lots of time together and I will make lots of resolutions on Sunday afternoon that will last until around 10AM on Monday morning.

16:08:20 - 2000-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188