kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fright Night

The funny thing about New York on Halloween is that you often can�t tell if someone is actually in costume or if their get up is just their everyday look. Pimp? Whore? Hassidic Jew? Punk Rock Skateboarder? Drunken Paparazzi Obsessed Socialite? Who knows? Today I dressed in a Disgruntled, Underpaid Worker costume. Funny, no one noticed.

This morning walking to work I passed a school yard where pint sized Super Heroes, Doctors, Power Rangers and Barbie�s were playing basketball. This was truly a joyous site. It wasn�t just me. Several jaded New Yorkers stopped and smiled. Something about the little girl in the waist length pink wig and coordinating fuzzy pink holiday in Aspen style boots doing layups was just too precious for words.

Being a grownup on Halloween is really no fun at all. Since I�ve really only considered myself a grownup for the past month I�m new to all this. What does one do? Sit at home and watch bad horror movies whilst munching on Candy Corn? Oh ick. I hate being a grownup. I may have to shelve my newfound maturity for one night of hedonism. Baby steps right?

4:57 p.m. - 2003-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188