kiwifruit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Real women" do yoga

Thursday night � glass of wine, David Gray on the CD player. Just got back from my big �O� photo shoot. The one where they take a handful of NYC women and use them as models for a �real woman� fashion shoot. As in, oooh � isn�t that cool how she has cellulite like the rest of us and isn�t a size 2? Still, it took two and a half hours of hair, makeup and nail polishing to get me to look like a �real� woman. Go figure. Still, it wasn�t as if I had anything better to do and I was hoping to maybe get my hands on some samples. Let�s face it; I�ll do just about anything for free clothes. Didn�t get any clothes, but I did get a free manicure and the heads up on a great Laura Mercier lip liner (�chestnut�) which is really natural looking and pretty. Oh, and I got my eyebrows shaped which any woman knows is really priceless. Course it is a little embarrassing to hear that I�ve been doing it wrong all this time. I mean really, I can�t believe I had the nerve to set foot in public with those bushy things as they were! Horrors! Well, now I know. The shoot was relatively painless, nothing like when I was a model (as in not a �real� woman) and I actually cared what everyone thought. And I did get the chance to tell everyone that listened that I was freelancing now and would LOVE to write for �O�. Hey, what can I say? You do what ya gotta.

C. is on his way out to the U2 concert. I am insanely jealous but I�m being super nice about it because you�ve got to learn to pick your fights and this one�s not worth it. Plus, he already feels guilty and then there is that small matter of the fact that he pays all our household bills and rent and for the trip to Italy and blah, blah, blah, while I sit here on my unemployed ass (so who am I to complain?).

So tonight I will probably smoke too many cigarettes and play on my computer taking a small break to watch Friends and admire Rachel�s hair. The cigarettes BTW, they�ve got to stop. I had a small panic attack in yoga today. First, let me clarify that I often have panic attacks in yoga so this isn�t that strange. Yoga succeeds in drawing my attention to the fact that my body and my mind are far to wound up/bound up and generally tense. And then there�s that �Om� thing which I am really trying to get the hang of. And also the sweating. You wouldn�t know it but an hour and fifteen minutes of intense yoga really makes ya sweat (we aint talking ladylike perspiration here folks) and the sweat just oozes into the yoga mats and festers there �yuck. And then there�s my yoga instructor who is a lovely person but who is your stereotypical �yoga guy� who wears baggy shorts and t-shirts and in all probability no underwear. He is so �at one� with himself and happy it really makes you want to puke (or physically attack him). And he TOUCHES people. Not in an inappropriate molester kind of way but to correct your form n� such. But STILL. But I digress � today my panic attack was worse than normal. I tried to unkink, I tried to �Om� but really I couldn�t breathe and it was most disconcerting. So � something�s got to give (specifically the smoking). That and I should probably move to some commune in Washington State and eat only bean sprouts and soy milk.

La di da. La di da.

7:41 p.m. - 2001-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

donuts
wanji
cf188